42,000 PDP Members Decamp To APC In Adamawa



In preparation for the 2019 elections, about 42,000 supporters from the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Adamawa State Chapter have decamped to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) .

Speaking at the occasion, former Special Adviser to former President Goodluck Jonathan, Barr Ali Gulak said no fewer than 42,000 PDP supporters from the 21 Local Government Areas of the state are defecting to the ruling APC.

According to him, they have decided to decamp because they are not being carried along in the scheme of the affairs of the PDP.

“In any political development, the interest of the citizens is paramount, the ruling party is addressing the problems of the North East Region especially as regards to security”, Gulak stated
He maintained that “with our decampment, we are regarding ourselves as advisers to the present administration whether we are appointed or not, adding that the idea is to correct any anomalies that might have arisen during the course of the present administration in the State”,

Gulak who led the decampees called on all and sundry to bury the hatchet and join hands with Governor Mohammed Umaru Jibrilla Bindow in developing the State for the betterment of Adamawa people.

Receiving the decampees, the APC National Vice-Chairman, North East Zone, Comrade Mustafa Salihu described the occasion as unique for the APC family, adding that they are returning back home .

He described those defecting now as being very patient since they were not moving along with others at the initial stage, when they were hoping the impunity in the PDP would be addressed.

Salihu assured the decampees of equal treatment while in the party, stressing that they are entitled to contest any position in their interests.

Prominent politicians among those decamping to the APC include;Barrister Ahmed Ali Gulak Former Special Adviser to the Preident on Political Matters, Felix Tangwami, Former DG Presidential/Gubernatorial Campaign PDP, Chief Medan Teneke former PDP National Ex-Officio, North East.

Other are Hon. (Barr.) Jonathan Sanda Lamurde, former commissioner, Hon. Phanuel Mosu, former adviser and local government chairman, Hon. Michael Zidon, former member state house of assembly and a host of others.

New Nigeria however observed that the decampees were the aggrieved members belong to the faction of the former National Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party, Senator Modif Sheriff.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here