24 Ex-Council Chairmen Return To APC, Declare Support For Adelabu

Oyo APC governorship candidate, Chief Adebayo Adelabu with Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

It was jubilation galore on Wednesday in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State  as 24  former local government chairmen that dumped the party last year  for the African Democratic Congress (ADC), and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State  returned to the APC.

New Nigerian reliably gathered that the former local government chairmen resolved to return to the APC after a reconciliatory meeting held on Tuesday and  attended by the APC governorship candidate in the state, Chief Adebayo Adelabu and other leaders of the party.

Sources said the 24  former chairmen at the reconciliation meeting expressed that they had worked assiduously to ensure the Governor Abiola Ajimobi second term only to be sent packing when it was time for them to seek re-election to their respective local government council areas. which according to them amounts to breach of agreement after working for the success of the re-election of the Governor.

Our sources said the returning 24 former local government Chairmen maintained that they decided to dump their various political parties and work for APC following the performance of the ruling party at the February 23, 2019 presidential and national assembly elections.

The 24 former Chairmen according to the sources added that they returned to APC to work for the success of  Chief Adebayo Adelabu at the governorship poll billed for  this Saturday,

Prominent among the returning 24 former council bosses  are Hon. Yekeen Popoola (Irepo) who served as ALGON Chairman between 2011 and 2015  Hon. Olabiyi Niyi (Saki East), Hon. Trimisiyu Olayiwola (Kajola), Hon. Olarinre Adisa (Itesiwaju), Lord Stowel Balogun (Oorelope) and Ismail Oyetunde (Ona Ara).

Others included Obisesan Kamoru (Egbeda), Abiodun  Olayiwola (Lagelu), Soji Ojoawo (Oyo (West) Olorode Oluade (Afijio), Mukthar Adekunle (Oyo East) and Aworinde Lasisi (Surulere), Jacob Ogunmola (Atisbo), Fashola David (Ogbomoso South), Ope Salami (Akinyele), Omolewu Segun (Ibarapa North), Adelore Atànda (Ibarapa Central) and John Olaoye Ojedokun (Iwajowa).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here