2019: Alao-Akala, Makinde, 35 Others To Contest Oyo Guber Elections – INEC


By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

Thirty seven (37) of the registered political parties in the country are to contest the 2019 governorship election in Oyo State in the next general elections.

Already, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Oyo has released and pasted list of the 37 political parties fielding governorship candidates for the election.

In the list  pasted at the INEC headquarters in Ibadan, the names of the governorship candidates were given as  Chief Adebayo Adelabu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Engineer Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Otunba  Adebayo Alao-Akala of the Action Democratic Party (ADP),  Mr Akinwale Olaosun of AAC and Olaide Olayiwola of KOWA Party and Bamidele Ajadi of the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

Others included Mogaji Odelalu of National Action Council (NAC), Engineer Hakeem Oyedele of Alliance for Democracy (AD), Saheed Ajadi of Accord Party, Olatunji Adigun Sadiq of Labour Party, Comrade Bamigboye Abiodun of Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN), Bolanle Ashabi Sarumi Aliyu of National Interest Party (NIP) and  Taiwo Otegbeye of PPC.

INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in Oyo state Barrister Mutiu Agboke pointed out that the essence of  pasting the names of the governorship candidates and their deputies was to give room for transparency in the electoral process.

The REC stressed that the names were pasted in oder for the general public to have access to the particulars of each candidate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here