2019: Ajimobi Wins Oyo South Senatorial Ticket, Promises To Surpass Governorship Achievements

Governor Abiola Ajimobi casting his vote in Ibadan.

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

Governor  Abiola Ajimobi in the early hours of Wednesday emerged as winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC)  Senatorial  ticket for Oyo South Senatorial District.

The governor at the  Senatorial primary election conducted by the Chief Ademola Seriki-led electoral panel polled 2,669 to defeat his rival  Dr. Fola Akinosun who scored 168 votes.

Chief Ademola Seriki while announcing the result of the Oyo South Senatorial District primary, declared that the exercise, which started around 6:30pm on Tuesday said the election was delayed as a result of what he called late arrival of voting materials from the APC national headquarters  in Abuja.

Speaking with newsmen after he was declared winner of the Oyo South Senatorial District primary election,  Governor Ajimobi commended  the electoral committee for conducting hitch-free and smooth primary election, despite the earlier delay
“I look forward to going back to the Red Chamber to contribute my quota to the national debate and the progress of the nation. I wish to bring to fore my parliamentary experience to grow a Nigeria that the next generation will be proud of.
The process has just started today (yesterday) with my emergence as the candidate of our great party. The people of Oyo South Senatorial district should expect greater performance from me at the Senate, which will even surpass my unprecedented achievements as governor by the grace of God.” he said.

Governor Ajimobi added, “as you have all witnessed, the election was free, fair and transparent. I was even happy that my younger brother, Dr. Fola Akinosun, could score as high as 168 votes. I think he tried. And you can see that it was transparent and I am happy about it.”

However, his rival, Dr Akinosun who had earlier promised to abide by the results of the primary on the condition that it was free and fair,  left the venue for undisclosed reasons before the final collation of the results from the nine LGs.

Dr Akinosun said his decision to contest the Oyo South Senatorial District seat  as a free citizen and qualified member of the APC, irrespective of the stature of his rival, saying, “,this election is not about life. It is about representation and should not be by force. I promise to accept the outcome of the polls and that is if the due diligence is done. We are in the same party and we shall not allow internal election to create crisis in our party.”

Addressing delegates after announcing the results, Chief Seriki said the election was another successful primary that the committee had conducted, having also taken charge of the governorship primary that produced Chief Adebayo Adelabu, on Sunday.

“You heard what happened in some states that conducted the same exercise. Some were not as successful as Oyo State and I give the credit to the aspirants and the entire members of this great party for making this exercise worthwhile.
I  salute the calmness and maturity of the aspirants that have so far participated in the primaries, from Sunday’s governorship primary and today’s Senate primary. We look forward to further cooperation of all stakeholders in the remaining primaries.”

Oyo South senatorial district is made up of 9 local government areas namely Ibarapa North, Ibarapa East, Ibarapa Central, Ido, Ibadan North, Ibadan South-East, Ibadan South-West, Ibadan North-East and Ibadan North-West.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here